Skip to main content

THIS IS THE TRICKY PART....


 This is a post for the fresh graduate soon to be intern....

I recently sat down with a friend over a bucket of wings.The festive season demanded so. We went on and on about how good it felt to complete school.We rumbled on in between chews,bites and hard swallows on how bad the system was to us.

.*and my mind wondered off.*.
..from the teachers that seemed to be mental cases from Mathare with their diabolical and sadistic punishments.The fatal beatings we got to the rare moments we enjoyed outside the really high school gates....(it was always high like we were in prison,though we did refer to it as so).

What about the random assessments,weekly revisions,Multiple choice questions?Yuck!!I hated my life..My only solace was the drama club,I would have joined other clubs but I wasn't cool enough.Drama club was a hiding place where my imagination could run wild and the one place I could meet someone beyond the gate,,this being my drama coach...For others it was sports and some other queer ones the library..(never quite got that one).

I can't quite place where boys,booze and bras all fit in,,,some of these 'trivial matters' become a blurr when you're enduring the 844 system which only comes second to the Chinese one...no joke this one.
 I will not even bother breaking it down coz all I can see is the chemistry that my teacher claimed I would use everyday of my life scribbled on the blackboard,the math sum on waves and wave lengths that upto date I have found no relevance..The fact that Ive mentioned these two,shows I detested every grueling minute and my grades showed..hehehehehe(I know I speak for a good number of us).

That is over but what about campus,four years never looked short like that,one moment you're doing you're first assignment the next you're up till 2 am making sure all goes well on your final.Never forgetting the sense of freedom that fills you.. feeling like you need to let the world know you would never miss out on a gig ,hot boxing or just random plots ever again. These are the times that broke a couple of us,made some realize that there's got to be more to life..mistakes and accomplishments is the cocktail all university students enjoy,others for the rest of their lives.

Back to my friend,the wings,the winding stories....we never quite finished,well,most girls don't quite finish.I just can't shake off the text I got from my dear friend as I sank between the sheets...I'm yet to get an answer....maybe you can help..

WHAT NEXT?

My research says: 
 The difference between school and life? In school, you're taught a lesson and then given a test. In life, you're given a test that teaches you a lesson.Tom Boddet




  

Comments

  1. gal,wat'cha gon do wid ua first salo eva?

    ReplyDelete
  2. anonymous,ill take my family out for lunch like this and buy a pair of shoes for myself...:-)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Random thoughts about time

I have a timetable at school that I follow strictly, an organizer with short quotes at the bottom of every page just to have that daily dose of intellectual stimulation, sticky notes on my laptop,wall and course texts...the to do list that never seems to end...O.k so what if I'm a type A.These are the type of people who are overtly active, aggressive,outgoing and most likely to get managerial posts since they make good leaders.On the flip side they are most likely to suffer from stress related illnesses and research shows that most strokes occur among type A personalities.......So yea,i suffer from mild insomnia when I undertake a project whether at school or home and the loss of appetite after a long day and damn those stupid pimples that attack the gap between my brows.Talk about a headlight.In this case it would be glowing red... (I digress ) Even with such great disadvantages of being active every minute of every day,the joy of getting anything done on time or earlier to som...

New Year, New Things....Kid yourself all you want

Another year, take a deep breath and tell yourself that you have a new slate. You can right all the wrongs you made and be the best that you can be.Now, please throw away that Self-Help Book, 'How to be a Happier You' and kindly pinch yourself back to reality. You know you surprise me at times, you actually think that a new year is like a rebirth(a new you my toe!). You send motivational messages, sweet and kind words of how lucky you are to be friends. The endless calls and the midnight call you make to that special someone, hugs and kisses..blah blah blah. Huurrrrlll!!! Spare me. Lets face it you have another 12 months to do what you do best...and that is make mistakes, end relationships and friendships, make a poor business decision and be stuck in the same dead end job. Aaawww, I'm giving it to you easy, believe me. You have twelve months to look back at your life and say, damn it! I should have, I would have...well coulda woulda shoulda.... You know its no wonder...